our staff


  • Pastor Nick Van Beek

    Pastor of Worship and Discipleship


    Pastor Nick has been with Bethel since the spring of 2012.  He and his wife, Carrie, live in Lansing and  have two daughters named Madelyn and Lillian.  He enjoys biking, traveling, and home brewing.

    nvanbeek@discoverbethel.org




  • Dr. Cal Aardsma

    Pastor of Administration


    Pastor Cal has been part of Bethel since 2006. He and his wife Sandy have 4 children and six grandchildren. He enjoys travel, sports and family.

     

    caardsma@discoverbethel.org


  • Rev. Herm Schutt

    Minister of Pastoral Care


    Pastor Herm has been with Bethel since January 2012.  He and his wife Gayle reside in Munster.  He enjoys spending time with his grand kids.


    hschutt@discoverbethel.org

  • Sarah Vanderaa

    Director of Youth Ministries


    Sarah has been with Bethel since 2007. She is originally from Minnesota and a graduate of Dordt College. She appreciates good literature, enjoys writing and anything dark chocolate.

    svanderaa@discoverbethel.org

  • Debbie Ohm

    Director of Children's Ministries


    Debbie Ohm has been a member of Bethel since 1998 and on staff since 2012.  She has a husband named Ryan and 3 children named Austin, Kate and Allison.  She enjoys camping, traveling and photography.


    dohm@discoverbethel.org

  • Judi Byma

    Worship Coordinator


    Judi Byma has been involved in the music and worship of Bethel since 1992, with a short break from 2000 to 2004.  She is married to Bill and together they have a daughter, two sons a daughter-in-law and one granddaughter.  She loves to sing and play piano.

    jbyma@discoverbethel.org

  • Lois Fennema

    Administrative Assistant


    Lois is a long-time member of Bethel and joined the staff in 2008. She is married to Jeff and they have 3 adult children. Lois enjoys traveling, sports, bike riding, walking, cooking, baking and kids of all ages.

    lfennema@discoverbethel.org

  • Tim Groenewold

    Comptroller


    Tim has been serving as the comptroller at Bethel since 2009.  He and his wife Kim and two children reside in Dyer, Indiana.   Tim owns a small business and loves to travel and spend time with his family.

    tgroenewold@discoverbethel.org

  • Dave Schurman

    Head Custodian


    Dave has been with Bethel since the fall of 2011. He and his wife Janice have two children, Katelynn and Joshua.  He enjoys camping, hiking, and volunteers for the Humane Society.

    dschurman@discoverbethel.org

  • Leroy Noble

    Assistant Custodian


    Leroy has been a member of Bethel for many years and joined the staff in 2016.  He and his wife Edith enjoy spending time with their kids and grand kids.